If you are a homeowner with a chimney, standard upkeep is a significant piece of keeping it in great condition just as keeping your family protected. Perhaps the best thing you can do to keep up your fireplace is to have a chimney inspection.

Inspections are an extraordinary method to guarantee that your fireplace and chimney are in acceptable condition and have no likely security or basic issues. At the point when a chimney is normally inspected, deterioration such as masonry damage can often be spotted early before it significantly damages the chimney. In like manner, fireplace assessments are likewise a helpful device when diagnosing progressing chimney issues, for example, breaks or chimney odor.

You may be surprised to discover that not all chimney inspections are the same. Depending on the circumstance, your chimney sweep may recommend one of three different chimney inspection levels to keep your home safe. Below, we will teach you about the distinct levels and what they mean for your home.


A level 1 chimney inspection is the most widely recognized inspection. If you have utilized your chimney normally in the past without encountering any issues, a level 1 assessment is fitting. With a level 1 review, the fireplace specialist will inspect the promptly open parts of your stack. This implies the expert will play out a visual assessment with a flashlight, analyzing all territories of your stack and pipe that can be seen with no extraordinary instruments. Your specialist may utilize basic devices, for example, a screwdriver or forceps to look at any openings, however, there ought to be no harm to any structures or wraps up.

Portions of your fireplace that ought to be analyzed in a level 1 review include:

  • Portions of the stack outside
  • Portions of the stack inside
  • Accessible segments of the machine and stack association

To put it plainly, your chimney professional will look at the fireplace to ensure that the fundamental structure is flawless and there are no obvious indications of harm. In this investigation, your specialist ought to likewise check that there are no obstacles or flammable materials in your stack.


A Level 2 inspection is required when any progressions are made to the framework. Changes can remember a change for the fuel type, changes to the state of, or material in, the pipe (for example relining), or the substitution or expansion of a machine of a divergent sort, input rating, or proficiency. Also, a Level 2 examination is required upon the deal or move of a property or after an activity breakdown or outside occasion that is probably going to have made harm the chimney. Building fires, stack fires, seismic occasions just as major weather events are largely pointers that this degree of assessment is justified.

A Level 2 chimney inspection is a bit more complex and is required when:

  • Buying or selling a home or business with a fireplace
  • The chimney survived weather damage or a fire
  • You want to use the chimney for extended periods

There are no specific tools (for example destruction hardware) needed to open entryways, boards, or covers in playing out a Level 2 review. A Level 2 investigation will likewise incorporate a visual examination by video filtering or different methods to analyze the inner surfaces and joints of all pipe liners consolidated inside the smokestack. No expulsion or devastation of forever joined parts of the fireplace or building structure or finish will be required by a Level 2 investigation.


Level 3 is the most in-depth and invasive type of chimney inspection. Level 3 inspections are typically only recommended in cases of serious structural damage, such as a chimney fire or other catastrophic events. A Level 3 inspection often involves removing part of the chimney such as the chimney wall or chimney cap. Oftentimes, this may cause damage to the walls, ceilings, or siding of your home. Because of this, Level 3 inspections are not taken lightly and are only recommended when seriously needed.